PTI | Up to date: September 16, 2018, 4:35 PM IST

Ravindra Jadeja, Cheteshwar Pujara Included in Saurashtra Squad for Vijay Hazare

Rajkot: Staff India gamers Cheteshwar Pujara and Ravindra Jadeja have been included within the Saurashtra Cricket Affiliation (SCA) crew for the upcoming Vijay Hazare Trophy. The SCA introduced their inclusion within the crew Sunday. The Vijay Hazare Trophy will likely be performed in New Delhi the place final yr’s runners-up Saurashtra will play their first match towards Uttar Pradesh Cricket Affiliation (UPCA) on September 19, the SCA mentioned in a media launch.

Saurashtra will play eight matches within the match.

Nonetheless, Pujara, a Check specialist, and Jadeja, an all-rounder, could miss the fifth match, to be performed on September 30, and the remaining matches, if they’re chosen within the nationwide facet for the following month’s Check sequence at house towards the West Indies.

When contacted, SCA media supervisor Himanshu Shah instructed PTI, “Pujara and Jadeja have been included within the squad. The duo will play first half of the match as West Indies will begin their India tour by enjoying the primary Check on the SCA stadium at Khandheri right here on October 4.”

Pujara and Jadeja have been the star performers for Saurashtra in home cricket matches.

Through the just lately concluded Check sequence towards England which India misplaced by 1-4, Pujara scored a century and a half-century, whereas Jadeja, who performed solely the final Check, shone with each bat and ball.

“The primary Check match between India and the West Indies will begin from October Four on the SCA stadium. The 2 gamers are prone to miss second half of the Vijay Hazare Trophy,” Shah mentioned.

The SCA crew administration has not but declared the captain for the squad thus far. Nonetheless, Pujara is prone to lead the facet within the prestigious home match, whereas Jaydev Shah would be the captain of Saurashtra in his absence.

Squad: Jaydev Shah, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ravindra Jadeja, Robin Uthappa, Sheldon Jackson, Jaydev Unadkat, Samarth Vyas, Arpit Vasavada, Avi Barot, Prerak Mankad, Chirag Jani, Dharmendra Jadeja, Kamlesh Makwana, Yuvraj Chudasama, Saurya Sanandiya, Agnivesh Ayach and Hardik Rathod.

First Revealed: September 16, 2018, 4:35 PM IST


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here