Ranji Trophy Semifinals | Bengal on Top Against Karnataka, Gaja Leads Gujarat Fightback

Bengal v Karnataka

Hosts Bengal tightened their grip over the Ranji Trophy semifinal by lowering Karnataka to 98 for 3 after setting them a stiff 352-run goal on day three of the competition in Kolkata.

Resuming the day at 72 for 4, Bengal may handle simply 161 however the huge 190-run first innings lead meant that Karnataka now have a mountain to climb.

Anustup Majumdar, who staged a fourth rescue-act this season with an unbeaten 149 within the first innings, hit a combative 41 in Bengal’s second innings amid one more batting collapse.

Bengal, who received their earlier Ranji title throughout Sourav Ganguly’s debut season in 1989-90, would go for the kill to make their first last in 13 years. They’d misplaced to Mumbai by 132 runs of their final last look in 2007.

Karnataka have already misplaced their top-order and so they have to provide a superlative batting effort to attain the required 254 runs within the remaining two days of the match.

KL Rahul (0) was dismissed by a peach of a supply by the first-innings hero Ishan Porel.

Contemporary from three half-centuries and one century within the restricted overs collection in New Zealand, Rahul supplied no shot and selected to depart the supply exterior the road however it swung in sharply to have him plumb in entrance.

As Karnataka misplaced their star participant within the second ball of their innings with the scorecard studying zero, the 21-year-old pacer was thumping his chest in jubilation.

On a pitch which has slowed down and ball has turned delicate, Karnataka duo of R Samarth and Paddikal put up a 57-run partnership after the autumn of Rahul.

Bengal broke the partnership overturning the umpire’s choice with a profitable evaluation from the bowling of Akash Deep who had Samarth plumb in entrance.

Mukesh Kumar dismissed Karun Nair (6) as all of the three pacer had a share of 1 wicket every on the shut of day three.

The 19-year-old Padikkal remained unbeaten on 50 in firm of Manish Pandey (11).

Earlier, Sudip Chatterjee (45) was Bengal’s prime scorer of their second innings, whereas Majumdar and all-rounder Shahbaz Ahmed (31) continued their tremendous type in a 61-run partnership to prop up their general lead after a well-known top-order collapse.

Mithun bagged 4/23 and was their most spectacular bowler, whereas Ronit Extra (2/56) dismissed Chatterjee and Shreevats Goswami off successive deliveries.

Majumdar was initially fortunate and survived on 10 overturning a choice with profitable evaluation. An inside edge narrowly missed the stump when he was on 21.

However he broke free within the subsequent ball with back-to-back boundaries pulling Extra, whereas Shahbaz additionally bought into rhythm because the duo annoyed the Karnataka bowlers.

Krishnappa Gowtham (3/15) gave the breakthrough dismissing Ahmed and Bengal innings folded in 34 balls after lunch.

Temporary Scores: Bengal 312 and 161; 54.Four overs (Sudip Chatterjee 45, Anustup Majumdar 41, Shahbaz Ahmed 31; Abhimanyu Mithun 4/23, Krishnappa Gowtham 3/15).

Karnataka 122 and 98/3; 38 overs (Devdutt Paddikkal 50 batting).

Saurashtra v Gujarat

Medium pacer Chintan Gaja grabbed a fifer to guide Gujarat’s fight-back after they conceded a 52-run first-innings lead towards Saurashtra on the third day of their Ranji Trophy semi-final in Rajkot.

Gaja (5/15) decreased Saurashtra to 66 for five of their second essay on the finish of the day three because the hosts took an general lead of 118 on the SCA Stadium in Khandheri.

The 25-year-old Ahmedabad-born Gaja bowled in the precise areas and was handsomely rewarded for his efforts.

His scalps included Harvik Desai (0), Kishan Parmar (0), Avi Barot (1), Vishwaraj Jadeja (6) and first-innings centurion Sheldon Jackson (0) to decreased Saurashtra to 15 for five.

However an skilled Arpit Vasavada (23 not out) and Chetan Sakariya (32 not out) stood tall towards the Gujarat bowlers until stumps had been drawn.

This was after the hosts, who had posted 304, bundled out Gujarat for 252 of their first essay.

Gujarat was reeling at 155 for Eight at one stage of their first innings, however then Rujul Bhatt (71 off 212 balls) and Gaja (61 off 103 balls) joined fingers to bail their aspect out by including 87 runs for the eighth wicket.

It was Saurashtra skipper Jaydev Unadkat (3/86), who broke the stand by dismissing Bhatt, caught by Avi Barot.

Bhatt’s dismissal paved manner for the hosts to take the first-innings lead.

Earlier within the morning, Saurashtra’s Chirag Jani gave Gujarat a double blow after eradicating in a single day batsman Axar Patel (21) and Roosh Kalaria (0) in fast succession.

However a decided Bhatt, who caught six boundaries, stood of their manner. He discovered an in a position companion in Gaja, whose knock was laced with six boundaries and 4 hits over the fence.

Gujarat took lunch at 211 for 8, nonetheless adrift by 93 runs.

The duo raised Gujarat’s hopes of taking the first-innings lead earlier than Unadkat broke the stand.

Saurashtra must bat deep on the fourth day to put up a aggressive goal for Gujarat.

Temporary Scores: Saurashtra 304 and 66/5 (Chetan Sakariya 32 batting, Chintan Gaja 5/15) v/s Gujarat 252 (Rujul Bhatt 71, Chintan Gaja 61; Jaydev Unadkat 3-86). Saurashtra lead by 118 runs.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here