Pakistan Overhaul Test Squad For South Africa Series

LAHORE: Pakistan named 9 uncapped gamers on Friday in a significant overhaul of their check squad earlier than a two-test dwelling collection towards South Africa following a 2-Zero defeat in New Zealand.

Batsmen Haris Sohail and Shan Masood, paceman Mohammad Abbas and left-arm spinner Zafar Gohar, who all performed within the collection in New Zealand that ended this month, have been disregarded of the 20-man squad for the collection beginning in Karachi on Jan. 26.

Tempo bowlers Haris Rauf and Tabish Khan, and openers Abdullah Shafique and Imran Butt are among the many uncapped gamers rewarded for sturdy performances in home cricket.

Medium-fast bowler Hasan Ali and left-arm spinner Mohammad Nawaz are recalled to the check squad for what will probably be South Africa’s first tour of Pakistan in 13 years.

“Haris Sohail, Mohammad Abbas and Shan Masood have been dropped because of inconsistent performances,” chief selector Mohammad Wasim stated after naming the squad.

The trio, in addition to Gohar, would work on their method and type at Pakistan Cricket Board’s excessive efficiency centre in Lahore.

Quick bowler Naseem Shah, who performed in New Zealand, was not thought-about for the collection towards South Africa due to a hamstring drawback.

Skipper Babar Azam, who missed each the exams in New Zealand with a fractured thumb, is about to steer the aspect within the matches in Karachi and Rawalpindi.

The gamers will enter their bio-secure bubble on Tuesday and the squad will probably be trimmed to 16 gamers earlier than the opening check.

Pakistan squad: Abid Ali, Abdullah Shafique, Imran Butt, Azhar Ali, Babar Azam (captain), Fawad Alam, Kamran Ghulam, Salman Ali, Saud Shakeel, Faheem Ashraf, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan (vice-captain), Sarfaraz Ahmed, Nauman Ali, Sajid Khan, Yasir Shah, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Afridi, Tabish Khan.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here