PTI | Up to date: September 27, 2018, 9:43 PM IST

Pakistan Drop Struggling Mohammad Amir From Australia Tests

Mohammed Amir in motion in opposition to Eire. (Twitter/ICC)

Lahore: Pakistan have overlooked struggling tempo spearhead Mohammad Amir from the 17-member squad for the two-match Take a look at sequence in opposition to Australia beginning in United Arab Emirates subsequent month, Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) introduced on Thursday.The 26-year-old quick bowler, who returned from a five-year ban for match-fixing in January 2016, had a wicketless Asia Cup through which he was dropped for 2 matches.

Pakistan crashed out of the Asia Cup after dropping to Bangladesh, who meet India within the closing in Dubai on Friday.

Pakistan will closely depend on its ace leg-spinner Yasir Shah who performed a key position within the 2-Zero win over Australia in UAE in 2014, when he took 12 wickets.

Apart from Yasir the squad has 19-year-old leg-spinner Shadab Khan and 33-year-old off-spinner Bilal Asif, who has but to play a Take a look at match however performed three one-day internationals in 2015. Shadab has eight wickets in 4 Assessments.

Chief selector Inzamam-ul-Haq stated the crew was chosen retaining in thoughts the situations within the UAE, the place Pakistan have been pressured to play its residence matches since 2009.

“The crew has been chosen retaining in thoughts the situations of the UAE. Amir has been dropped on lack of type and Wahab Riaz and Mir Hamza comes within the aspect.

“We’ve three spinners Yasir, Shadab and Asif who’re within the squad retaining in view the UAE wickets,” stated Inzamam.

The primary Take a look at begins in Dubai from October 7 whereas the second shall be staged in Abu Dhabi from October 16. Each groups may also play three Twenty20 internationals, the squads for which shall be introduced later.

Left-arm paceman Riaz returns to the squad after taking part in the final of his 26 Assessments in October final yr. The squad additionally has one other fast-rising left-arm paceman Hamza who has but to play for Pakistan. Sarfraz Ahmed will lead the the 17-man squad.

Squad: Sarfraz Ahmed (captain), Azhar Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Babar Azam, Asad Shafiq, Haris Sohail, Usman Salahuddin, Yasir Shah, Shadab Khan, Bilal Asif, Mohammad Abbas, Hasan Ali, Wahab Riaz, Faheem Ashraf, Mir Hamza, Mohammad Rizwan.

First Revealed: September 27, 2018, 9:43 PM IST


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here