New Zealand Name Spin-heavy Side for 2018 Women's World T20

(Picture: White ferns)

New Zealand named a spin-heavy 15-member squad for the ICC Ladies’s World T20 to be held within the Caribbean in November, on Tuesday.The White Ferns coach, Haidee Tiffen confirmed the squads for the World occasion in addition to the three-match Twenty20 Worldwide collection towards Australia that can be performed between September 29 and October 5 in Sydney, Brisbane and Canberra respectively. The Australia collection may even see Amy Satterthwaite take cost of the New Zealand aspect after Suzie Bates had relinquished captaincy final month.

New Zealand’s 13-member squad for the three T20Is has 5 spinners within the combine. Together with Satterthwaite, who’s a reliable off-spinner New Zealand have included three different off spinners in Maddy Inexperienced, Leigh Kasperek and Jess Watkins, whereas Amelia Kerr will deal with the leg-spinning duties. The World T20 occasion within the West Indies will then see a sixth possibility in Anna Peterson, added to the aspect.

With the surfaces within the Caribbean recognized to help loads of flip, New Zealand appear to have most bases lined as they search a primary title win on the marquee T20 occasion.

“We’re blessed with a bunch of versatile cricketers and know that spin ought to play a big half within the Caribbean, particularly with the slower nature of the pitches over there,” stated Tiffen.

New Zealand even have a complete tempo division which incorporates the likes of Lea Tahuhu, Sophie Devine, Kate Ebrahim, Holly Huddleston and Hayley Jensen, and Hannah Rowe. The batting division additionally bears a robust look as properly with Bates, Satterthwaite and Devine main the way in which.

Tiffen stated that she was glad with preparation forward of the World T20.

“We had a superb 4 days at Lincoln final week the place we mixed talent work with three extremely aggressive observe matches,” stated Tiffen.

“We learnt extra about our gamers at camp, and with two of the observe matches happening to the ultimate ball we have been in a position to see how gamers reacted in several stress conditions.”

Squad for Australia T20Is: Suzie Bates, Bernadine Bezuidenhout, Sophie Devine, Kate Ebrahim, Maddy Inexperienced, Holly Huddleston, Hayley Jensen, Leigh Kasperek, Amelia Kerr, Katey Martin, Amy Satterthwaite (c), Lea Tahuhu, Jess Watkin

Squad for WWT20: Suzie Bates, Bernadine Bezuidenhout, Sophie Devine, Kate Ebrahim, Maddy Inexperienced, Holly Huddleston, Hayley Jensen, Leigh Kasperek. Amelia Kerr, Katey Martin, Anna Peterson, Hannah Rowe, Amy Satterthwaite (c), Lea Tahuhu, Jess Watkin

First Revealed: September 18, 2018, 11:48 AM IST


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here