Syed Mushtaq Ali: Karnataka Clinch More Silverware After Thrilling Final against Tamil Nadu

Historically a powerhouse, Karnataka had been completely dominant with each the bat and the ball within the ultimate of the Syed Mushtaq Trophy in Surat on December 1 as they clinched a slim 1 run win in opposition to neighbours Tamil Nadu to assert one other home title.

For the champions, the spinners actually got here to the fore as they picked essential wickets to use the brakes on Tamil Nadu, who had began effectively and even regarded like they’d run away with it in the direction of the tip when Baba Aparajith received his act going. However earlier than that, it was Manish Pandey who performed a captain’s hand with a blistering 60 to set it up for his facet.

Put in to bat, Karnataka received a great begin with KL Rahul and Devdutt Padikkal starting effectively. Rahul regarded to take the assault to R Ashwin, hitting him for 2 boundaries in his first two overs.

Rahul began Ashwin’s third over with a six however the offspinner had the final giggle, the batsman holing out to lengthy on. Ashwin adopted it up by having Mayank Agarwal for a first-ball duck, a forefront popping again to the bowler.

Karnataka had been 39 for two within the fifth over, with Pandey becoming a member of Padikkal. The latter started a counter assault, making certain Karnataka would not lag behind after the double wicket. Karnataka received 57 within the Energy Play.

With Pandey settling in as effectively, the partnership threatened to take the sport away. However Tamil Nadu fought again with Washington Sundar knocking over Padikkal’s stump with a wonderful ball within the 10th over.

The see-saw contest continued with Pandey and Rohan Kadam steadying the ship as soon as once more earlier than exploding within the latter phases. The 15th and 16th overs, bowled by M Siddharth and Vijay Shankar, value 31 runs mixed to arrange the bottom for a powerful end. Pandey was regular and received previous his half-century, whereas Kadam made a useful 28-ball 35.

Tamil Nadu pulled issues again effectively within the final 4 overs, conceding solely 34 runs. That was largely because of T Natarajan, who went wicketless however gave solely 14 runs from two overs in that interval to complete on 0-30. Pandey was unbeaten on 60 off 45 whereas Karun Nair made a useful contribution of 17* (8).

In response, Tamil Nadu knew that they had an opportunity and on cue Shahrukh Khan (16) together with Hari Nishanth (14) smashed six boundaries between themselves to present the facet a brisk begin.

Shahrukh nevertheless couldn’t proceed his efforts as Shreyas Gopal struck along with his first ball to ship him again with the rating at 37/2.

New males Washington Sundar (24) and Dinesh Karthik (20) had been watchful to start with, and placed on a vital 39-run partnership at good tempo to maintain themselves within the hunt, regardless that the required run-rate had crossed the 10-run mark by then.

Krishnappa Gowtham eliminated Sundar, after which Jagadeesha Suchith eliminated the opposition skipper as KL Rahul accomplished the stumping with ease. Tamil Nadu are 4/80 had been in a spot of trouble.

With their backs to the wall, Baba Aparajith (40) and Vijay Shankar (44) dug deep and led the late coutner-attack which just about ended with the title itself.

Aparajith determined to assault the bowlers early within the over and clobbered three maximums throughout his 25-ball knock. On the different finish, Shankar had been discovering the gaps effectively too and added 5 boundaries of his personal. The duo placed on 71 runs in lower than Eight overs, earlier than Ronit Extra despatched Aparajith again to the hut.

Shankar continued to do his factor with India teammate R Ashwin, who additionally used the lengthy deal with to wonderful impact, particularly within the ultimate over when he despatched Gowtham for 2 massive boundaries to present the chasing pack some contemporary air.

Nonetheless Shankar, who tried to sneak in a fast two to assist scale back the stress of the ultimate supply, fell brief and Karnataka ultimately wrapped it up as Murugan Ashwin failed to attach and Rahul had no worries about conceding a single.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here