The way in which Dinesh Karthik blasted the Bangladesh bowling to safe the crown for India in a final-ball drama within the Nidahas Trophy closing in Colombo, is nice tidings for Kolkata Knight Riders, which has entrusted the captaincy to this gutsy wicketkeeper-batsman.

For one of the adorned outfits within the IPL, the brand new season brings in a number of modifications each by way of captaincy and staff composition. The public sale this season noticed KKR bidding aggressively for the gamers it backed and that noticed the franchise operating into tight corners at instances attempting to protect its wish-list.

READ: Knight Riders ropes in Curran as Starc’s replacement

On paper the facet continues to stay bowling-heavy with Tom Curran, Sunil Narine, Kuldeep Yadav and Andre Russell being the important thing picks this season. The staff has retained among the gamers from the earlier years like Robin Uthappa, Kuldeep Yadav and Piyush Chawla however the prevalence of latest faces will assist Karthik formulate his personal sport plan extra effectively.

The information of Caribbean all-rounder Russell struggling a hamstring harm within the Pakistan Tremendous League and Narine being referred to as once more for suspect motion might come as a setback, however the facet is trying to recover from it by bringing in Javon Searles, a member of KKR’s cousin within the Caribbean Premier League, the Trinbago Knight Riders.

READ: Fit-again Lynn raring to go

Seeking to make investments sooner or later, KKR has additionally picked up three Underneath-19 cricketers — the best run-getter within the current ICC Underneath-19 World Cup, Shubman Gill, and the spectacular pacers in the identical occasion, Kamlesh Nagarkoti and Shivam Mavi. Given the choice choice, these gamers are anticipated a play an enormous half in KKR’s scheme of issues.

Within the absence of the earlier captain and opener Gautam Gambhir, who led the facet to each its titles in 2012 and 2014, Karthik must shoulder the extra accountability within the batting division, which is the one part that seems weak. However with Chris Lynn, Uthappa and Nitish Rana additionally current within the squad, KKR will probably be hoping to see some good partnerships within the batting division.

Participant to look at

Kuldeep Yadav, the quick creating wrist-spin exponent, appears to have usurped the ‘thriller’ component from the Caribbean off-spinner Sunil Narine, who’s being always referred to as for suspect motion.

Topgun: Kuldeep Yadav celebrates a strike for KKR with wicketkeeper Robin Uthappa within the IPL final 12 months. Within the final one 12 months, Kuldeep has improved by leaps and bounds.   –  VIVEK BENDRE


The left-arm ‘chinaman’ bowler, Kuldeep, has had a splendid time with the ball in the previous couple of months, contributing notably within the Indian staff’s excellent efficiency within the limited-overs sequence in South Africa earlier this 12 months. Yadav used his inventory deliveries and blended them with some artful variations to good impact as he ran via the most effective sides on the earth in its personal yard.

Kuldeep will probably be a key weapon in KKR’s arsenal because the facet appears to be like to regain the title.

Dinesh Karthik, captain

KKR is a persistently performing staff for the final decade. I’m actually completely satisfied that I’ve been entrusted with the duty of captaincy as I used to be on the lookout for a management function at this level of my profession. I’m completely satisfied that this has come alongside and I’ll undoubtedly give my greatest.

ALSO READ: Dinesh Karthik to alter batting position in KKR

It’s a very balanced staff. Should you see the international gamers they’re actually skilled and relating to the Indians, they supply a number of power and this offers me the arrogance to consider good outcomes. And, the younger gamers within the facet can have an amazing alternative to be taught and specific themselves within the firm of among the greatest gamers on the earth.

Squad: Dinesh Karthik (wk/captain), Robin Uthappa, Sunil Narine, Andre Russell, Chris Lynn, Kuldeep Yadav, Piyush Chawla, Nitish Rana, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Shivam Mavi, Mitchell Johnson, Shubman Gill, Ranganath Vinay Kumar, Rinku Singh, Cameron Delport, Javon Searles, Tom Curran, Apoorv Vijay Wankhade and Ishank Jaggi.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here