Inconsistent Pakistan, Bangladesh Clash in Virtual Semifinal as India Await

A win and a loss every within the group stage. A giant loss to India, and a slender win in opposition to Afghanistan within the Tremendous Fours. This has been the frequent theme in Bangladesh’s and Pakistan’s journey up to now within the 2018 Asia Cup. Now, they discover themselves dealing with off in opposition to one another in a digital semifinal, with the winner taking up India for the title on Friday.The similarities within the marketing campaign make it tough to select a favorite. They have not performed one another in a very long time too; the final time these two sides met was in March 2016 in the course of the World T20. The final time they met in a One-Day Worldwide was in April 2015.

Either side have modified quite a bit since then, for the higher. Bangladesh made it to the knockouts of an ICC occasion for the primary time once they reached the semifinals of the Champions Trophy final yr. They even went on to beat Windies within the Caribbean earlier this yr. Pakistan, in the meantime, shocked many to win the Champions Trophy.

The Asia Cup is one other vital match for each side of their upward journey. But, each have been inconsistent by their marketing campaign. It is time to repair that, for they face a do-or-die scenario on the Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi on Wednesday.

Bangladesh’s largest downside has been their over-reliance on people. With Tamim Iqbal injured within the very first recreation, Mushfiqur Rahim has needed to carry the staff on his shoulders. It was solely due to his century that they gained in opposition to Sri Lanka within the group stage. The remainder have been on and off, though many of the batsmen have had at the very least one first rate rating by the marketing campaign. All of it appeared to return collectively of their earlier match in opposition to Afghanistan, the place Imrul Kayes and Mahmudullah helped them publish a aggressive 249 for 7 after being 87 for five at one stage.

Twitter/ ACC

Bangladesh although will need extra from Shakib Al Hasan and their openers. Shakib has scores of 0, 32, 17 and Zero in 4 matches whereas the very best rating by an opener has been the 41 by Liton Das within the final match. Soumya Sarkar, who was drafted within the squad for the Tremendous Fours, might maybe change Nazmul Hossain Shanto in opposition to Pakistan. Bangladesh may even wish to enhance on their dying bowling. They conceded 97 and 77 runs respectively of the final 10 overs of their matches in opposition to India and Afghanistan respectively, and can’t afford a repeat within the knockout recreation.

Pakistan too have had particular person performances however have not introduced out their A recreation as a staff. Imam-ul-Haq, Babar Azam and Shoaib Malik have had scores within the match however have not fired in unison. The nice factor for Pakistan is that Fakhar Zaman and Sarfraz Ahmed, who had boring begins, confirmed indicators of type in opposition to India though they could not convert them into massive knocks. Pakistan will hope that occurs in opposition to Bangladesh.

Pakistan’s bowling was made to look odd by India’s openers Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan, with each scoring easy centuries. What has been much more odd by the match although has been their fielding. Pakistan have improved leaps and bounds on the sphere within the final two years, however the final two weeks have been a throwback to their infamous previous with dropped catches and misfields aplenty.

But, they have loads of firepower of their bowling, which could be too good for any opposition on their day. Pakistan will hope Wednesday might be that day, for in the event that they get it proper, they’re going to have an opportunity to face India for Spherical 3. And who is aware of, possibly do what they did to their arch-rivals within the Champions Trophy closing final yr.


Pakistan: Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Babar Azam, Shan Masood, Sarfraz Ahmed(c), Shoaib Malik, Haris Sohail, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Junaid Khan, Usman Khan, Shaheen Afridi, Asif Ali, Mohammad Amir.

Bangladesh: Shakib Al Hasan, Mashrafe Mortaza(c), Mohammad Mithun, Liton Das, Mushfiqur Rahim, Ariful Haque, Mahmudullah, Mosaddek Hossain, Mehidy Hasan, Nazmul Islam, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Abu Hider Rony, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Mominul Haque, Soumya Sarkar, Imrul Kayes

First Printed: September 25, 2018, 5:42 PM IST


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here