16th May 2010: England Beat Australia To Win Maiden ICC Title

(Getty Photographs)

On this present day eight years in the past, England lastly ended their trophy drought, because the Paul Collingwood-led group lifted the ICC WT20 in West Indies after beating arch rivals Australia by 7 wickets.This was England’s first ICC trophy, after dropping three one-day World Cup finals – in 1979, 1987, 1992 and one ICC Champions Trophy ultimate in 2004. The group had a robust event, and Kevin Pietersen performed a key function on this planet beating group, choosing up the ‘Participant of the event’ award.

The explosive batsman ended the event because the second highest run-getter with 248 runs in 6 matches, which included two half-centuries.

Within the ultimate, Australia was put in by England and had been restricted to 147/6 of their allotted 20 overs. Ryan Sidebottom took two wickets, conceding solely 26 runs.

Australia had been struggling at 45/four and by no means actually managed to get going. David Hussey and Cameron White stitched collectively a 50-run partnership, after which Michael Hussey scored a quick-fire 17 so as to add some respectability to the rating. David Hussey was the very best scorer with 59 runs.

England reached the goal comfortably with three overs to spare, wicket-keeper Craig Kieswetter and Kevin Pietersen scored 63 and 47 respectively, and added 111 for the second wicket.

The duo had been significantly brutal on the Australian bowling pair of Shane Watson and Shaun Tait. Watson conceded 42 runs in his three overs, and Tait 28 in the identical variety of overs.

Captain Paul Collingwood scored the profitable runs for England because the group lifted the WT20 trophy.

Until date, that is still the one ICC Trophy which the group has received.

First Revealed: Might 16, 2018, 2:33 PM IST

WP Engine Hassle-Free Managed WordPress Hosting


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here