Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2021: Baroda Rout Chhattisgarh With 9-Wicket Win

Left-arm pacer Lukman Meriwala’s fifer was the cornerstone of Baroda’s thumping nine-wicket win over Chhattisgarh in an Elite Group C match of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy T20 event right here on Thursday. Put in to bat on the F B Colony floor, Chhattisgarh had been bundled out for simply 90 runs because the Baroda bowlers, led by Meriwala (5/8), wreaked havoc on the visiting batsmen.

Also read: India vs Australia Brisbane Test Preview: Irrespective of Result, India Can Return With Heads Held High

Meriwala was ably supported by off-spinner Kartik Kakade (2/17) and left-arm spinners Krunal Pandya (1/20) and Ninad Rathwa (1/16) as they by no means allowed the opposition batsmen to calm down. For Chhattisgarh, opener and wicket-keeper Shashank Chandrakar top-scored with a 20, as the remainder of his batting colleagues fell cheaply. They misplaced half their aspect for 54 and their innings by no means actually acquired going.

Coach Justin Langer Lashes Out Against Michael Vaughan’s Criticism of Steve Smith

The chase was a stroll within the park for Baroda, regardless of dropping opener Ninad Rathwa (0) early. Skilled Kedar Devdhar (44 not out; 7×4) and one-down Vishnu Solanki (42 not out; 5×4, 1×6) solid an unbeaten 86-run second wicket stand as they tore right into a listless Chhattisgarh assault and took their aspect house in simply 12.Three overs.

This was Baroda’s third win within the league stage, having earlier defeated Himachal Pradesh and Uttarakhand within the first two video games.

Temporary Scores: At F B Colony Floor: Chhattisgarh 90 all out (Shashank Chandrakar 20; L Meriwala 5/8, Kartik Kakade 2/17) misplaced to Baroda 91/1 (Kedar Devdhar 44 not out, Vishnu Solanki 42 not out; Sourabh Majumdar 1/12) by 9 wickets.

At Motibaug floor: Himachal Pradesh 141/5 (Rishi Dhawan 43, Digvijay Rangi 35 not out; Axar Patel 1/16) beat Gujarat 115 all out (Piyush Chawla 39; Vaibhav Arora 3/16, Pankaj Jaiswal 2/19) by 26 runs.

At Reliance floor: Maharashtra 141/4 (Kedar Jadhav 61, Azmi Kazi 31 not out; Dikshanshu Negi 1/18) misplaced to Uttarakhand 145/4 (Jay Bista 69 not out, Dikshanshu Negi 23; Divyang Himganekar 1/11) by six wickets.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here