Australia Name Women's T20 World Cup Squad, Annabel Sutherland Gets Surprise Call-up

Hosts Australia have introduced their squad for the ladies’s T20 World Cup, with the core of the staff remaining largely the identical because the one which featured within the nation’s victorious T20 World Cup marketing campaign two years again within the West Indies.

Nonetheless, eighteen yr outdated Annabel Sutherland, the teenage all-rounder for Victoria is a shock inclusion within the staff rather than Elyse Villani, after impressing within the girls’s nationwide cricket league. Her current figures of three/41 and scores of 43 and 67 within the WNCL had been certain eye-catching, however her highest rating in final yr’s girls’s Massive Bash League was simply 38, taking 5 wickets within the ten matches that she performed for Melbourne Stars.

The selectors have additionally persevered with Erin Burns, after the 31-year-old opted to go in for knee surgical procedure as an alternative of enjoying within the WNCL final week. She might be within the staff rather than Nicole Bolton.

The remainder of the staff stays the identical, captained by Meg Lanning with Rachel Haynes as her deputy. The staff had misplaced just one match out of the 21 T20s that it performed in 2019, and could be wanting ahead to hold that kind into the World Cup on house soil.

Australia Squad: Meg Lanning, Rachel Haynes, Erin Burns, Nicola Carey, Ashleigh Gardner, Alyssa Healy, Jess Jonassen, Delissa Kimmince, Sophie Molineux, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Annabel Sutherland, Tayle Vlaeminck, Georgia Wareham


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here