Anil Chaudhary Only Indian in List of Umpires For U-19 World Cup

Dubai: Anil Chaudhary is the lone Indian named within the record of 19 match officers, together with 16 umpires, for the upcoming ICC U-19 World Cup beginning in South Africa from January 17.

The 54-year-old Chaudhary has to date officiated in 20 ODIs and 27 T20 Internationals together with the continuing collection between India and Sri Lanka.

The official, who hails from Delhi, has been part of a number of U-19 World Cups.

Based on an ICC media launch, veteran Ian Gould, whose senior worldwide profession got here to an finish when he retired throughout the ICC Males’s Cricket World Cup 2019 on house soil, will officiate in defending champions India’s opening sport in opposition to Sri Lanka in Bloemfontein.

In all, 16 umpires from 12 completely different international locations shall be on the sector for 5 matches every within the first stage of the U19 World Cup, with eight additionally performing the position of TV umpire.

The ICC named three match referees for the event, with former Sri Lanka seamer Graeme Labrooy to officiate alongside South Africa’s Shaid Wadvalla and England’s Phil Whitticase.

Skilled umpires Wayne Knights and Ravindra Wimalasiri will take cost of the opening match between hosts South Africa and Afghanistan at Kimberley on January 17. Rashid Riaz Waqar would be the TV umpire for the primary of 48 video games within the event.

ICC Senior Supervisor (Umpires and Referees), Adrian Griffith stated,”The U19 Cricket World Cup is a vital occasion in our calendar because it brings collectively the world’s most promising younger gamers in a serious ICC event, giving them the expertise of competing on the worldwide stage.”

“We’re dedicated to appointing the best officers accessible and I’ve confidence within the crew travelling to South Africa for the U19 Cricket World Cup they may do a effective job. I want all of them the very best.”

Umpire and match referee appointments for the knockout levels shall be introduced after the groups shall be confirmed. The appointments for the Plate and Tremendous League closing shall be finalised after the semi-finals.

Umpires: Roland Black, Ahmad Shah Pakteen, Sam Nogajski, Sharfuddoula Ibne Shahid, Ian Gould, Wayne Knights, Rashid Riaz Waqar, Anil Chaudhary, Patrick Bongani Jele, Iknow Chabi, Nigel Duguid, Ravindra Wimalasiri, Masudur Rahman Mukul, Asif Yaqoob, Leslie Reifer, Adrian Holdstock

Match Referees: Graeme Labrooy, Shaid Wadvalla, Phil Whitticase.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here